Would you go fridgeless?

Whenever I’m stocking up food for the week to come, I’m always overambitious. By that I mean that I aim to cook food at home every single day of the week, both for myself and culinary passers-by. This leads to a heavily loaded fridge and sackfuls of fruits and veggies that overcrowd the little bowl strategically placed on top of my microwave to keep them from filling my counter. And, as every weekend, I throw away at least some of my food, since it is too well preserved in the fridge – gradually any traditional knowledge I have ever had about food preservation fades away.  The fridge is my salt, sugar, vinegar and alcohol. Jihyun Ryou agrees with me, or I agree with her. She finds “that we hand over the responsibility of taking care of food to the technology, the refrigerator” and therefore studied traditional food preservation practices. She turned her thorough research into startling designs of spices-jars, carrot shelves, egg glasses and a vegetables-watering-can. I might go fridgeless, soon. What else could we do without?

3 thoughts on “Would you go fridgeless?

  1. You have said it yourself: YOU are overambitious, and YOU stock up on the weekend. Your practices are not internally consistent. Of course this is not unusual, overpurchase of food is one of the leading causes of food waste.

    I would like to throw back the question to you: would you accept spending every day 10 minutes in a supermarket (or friendly Turkish grocery) buying more or less what you need for the day?

    This way you could do with a really tiny refrigerator, or perhaps none at all, if you renounce fresh milk and unsalted butter. Or you could do like my grandmother used to do, and place perishables on the window sills or the balcony, where it is generally cooler than inside the home. Then of course you are at the mercy of the weather…

  2. Hi Walter, to be honest, I do exactly what you say: going to the Turkish grocery store on a daily basis to by the food I need for that day, apart from some general stocks. However, I tried to both think of my soon-approaching-working-life wherein shopping for the whole week might turn out to be a necessity, and I simultaneously tried to identify with those people that already approach their food routines in that overstocking-manner. Also, as an urbanite, I happen to live next to a street filled with little food stores, whereas most people are limited to supermarkets, or shopping once a week due to time-constraints. Living in the city makes my food routine flexible, where others don’t have that option.

Leave a Reply

