Born In The Eighties

As far as I know, many of us have heard of the division of ’79, ’86 and ’99 into generations. X, Y and Z. But, to draw lines between people that grow up in a comparable societal context, is the same as cutting your spaghetti into edible chunks. As a consequence, the Italians will severely dismiss you at the dinner table. However, when you identify a new generation, society eats it. Books, publications and marketing research. It’s there, in abundance. And it’s not that I do not identify with the characteristics that make me part of Generation Y, but it artificially anticipates on future clashes between these generations. And although I understand the nature of difficulties and conflicts I will experience when I enter the work force (that is almost: now), I also feel as if a forced division will never contribute to the solution. If I look at my fellow peers, skilled in many disciplines and proud owners of short-attention spans, they can’t answer the question what their ideal job looks like. It’s a bit of everything. They can’t be a consultant, teacher, text-writer, speaker, entrepreneur, artist and jurist at once, because to use this classic terminology implies these professions to be full-time occupations. But, what if you can take on all these different roles in one working-life, does that mean you’re not sufficiently skilled at anything? Overestimate your own capacities? Scared to make decisions? I don’t think so. But I do think we need a new language to bridge these classical and modern professions, channel established knowledge into the right funnels and look for that common denominator to carry out towards each other. A characteristic we, hopefully, all share: curiosity.

3 thoughts on “Born In The Eighties

  1. I couldn’t agree more! But (yes I’m Dutch :)), I would even state it goes further then this. For the future which has a future (the sustainable one) we need a work force where everybody is an entrepeneur, writer, speaker, engineer and designer at the same time! And not just wants it to be, but actually is. So is curiosity the only thing we need?

Leave a Reply

